Weekend of March 7, 2014

My weekend was so great. It started on March 7th, 2014 and was filled with great things like seeing Bonnie, hanging out with Aaron and his family, going horseback riding, going to Miracle League’s opening ceremony, taking a nap, going to the aquarium, and going to Purim.

On Friday, I went to [tutor] Bonnie’s house in La Jolla. I noticed that in front of her house, there was not a tree. Why you ask? Because, I think somehow the wind blew her tree away, so now there’s a big empty hole in her soil. Oh no. Then when I got home, Aaron, a graduate student from Scripps Institution of Oceanography and his mom and dad came for happy hour. I told them about corals because Aaron is studying about them now. I explained that one time I saw a TV show about corals and behind the corals was a small tunnel to a cave and inside the cave there was this fake small piano fish and I thought it was so cool. It was like smiling with all his piano songs. Then we took a picture just because I wanted to have a nice photo. After that, I got out my iPad and I had an app called Classical guitar and first, Aaron tried it and then his dad tried it. It was so fun because his dad tried to sing and played folk songs like “Blowing in the Wind” and “This Land is Your Land.”

Saturday, it was a fun day because I first went horseback riding and that was good. Then I went to Miracle League just across from this church because it was opening day and I had my uniform. In the front it said number 7, Boston Red Sox and on the back it said Live like Joan. Joan’s Purple Sox. Also, they had this card for all the players on their teams and each had their name and you write about them like this:

Casey Latz

10-19-1995

Casey is a 12th grader at Torrey Pines High School and Canyon Crest Academy. She is 18 years old. She enjoys horseback riding, piano, baseball and dance.

Then it was time for the opening ceremony where there were many teams: the Rays, the Pirates, the Storms, the Boston Red Soxs, the Ravens, the Padres, and the Mets who walked up to the middle of the field some in a single file line. Then the announcer asked if anyone would like to come up and sing our National Anthem and I signed it. After that, I saw part of their first game but it was so hot. It was like burning hot. Once the first inning ended, I went home and ate and took a long nap. Really, I did!

Sunday, [nurse] Elizabeth came and at first I was like crazy because I thought, “what? Chris can’t come? Aw man come on I mean… what’s going on with her?”  It’s because one of her kids was sick. Oh man! Anyways, when she came I exercised and I showed her the [Olympics] closing ceremony with Micah the bear. After that, I played piano, and went to the aquarium. I saw the new kelp tank for my very first time. They changed it so now they had a school of fish, many fish and sharks. After that we went outside to the tide pool to touch a sea cucumber. It was so gentle and soft. Then we headed to the other area where they had a game about the parts of a fish and a seahorse. Then we headed out to the courtyard and I saw a photo station that looked so cool. When she tried to put the money in this slot, I didn’t want to do it. Besides it was broken. She thought, “Hmm maybe it’s a problem.” And it was…. So there was another machine behind us so we went there and it worked just right. The photo machine asked us if we wanted classic or black or white print. We said classic. Then the machine said “which background do u want? Choose using the up or down arrow and press ok.” We chose aquarium. We took 4 pictures. The first second and third were all really bad, but the 4th one was perfect!

 After that, we drove to Poway for the friendship circle Purim and every kid had a costume. My costume was a good witch and Elizabeth was a bad and mean witch. When we got there, I met 2 girls who were my buddies and I saw Jaydon. First, we split up in groups and our group first made Hamintashin but my family didn’t want me to make it because it has eggs and milk but I accidently touched the dough so my hands were so dirty. After I washed them, I made a Purim bag with candies, noisemakers, and chips. Then we went to music and first we played with instruments, then we followed along with movements with hanky scarfs, then we saw a Purim play. It is about how Esther is a good princess and she wanted to rule all her people’s land. There’s also the bad king, Hangman [Haman] who the crowd say “boo” whenever we hear his name.

My favorite part of the weekend was when I had that Purim party because I wore a costume. My least favorite part was the aquarium because the first 3 pictures were not good but, a good time was had by all.

Overall, my weekend was great! Next weekend will be exciting because first of all, I have no riding. Second of all, I will have my first baseball game and finally I will go to JCC to see the kids version of “The Wizard of Oz.” You know with follow the yellow brick road? Anyways, I also want to either watch the movie Confession of a Teenage Drama Queen or see Wicked. I want to do one of these things because it will be a fabulous weekend.

 

With Aaron and his parents Barbara and Paul

 Image

 

 

With buddy Sophia at Miracle League Baseball Opening Day

Image

 

With nurse Elizabeth at the aquarium

Image

 

Standard

One thought on “Weekend of March 7, 2014

  1. You’re right Casey – the fourth photo was a charm. Hearing about the aquarium makes me want to visit – I haven’t been there in a few years. I’m so glad the Miracle League is starting back up – it was really fun going to one of the games last fall.
    Have fun at “The Wizard of Oz”! Pat

Leave a Reply

